The Full Circle Weekly News

A short podcast with just the news. No chit-chat. No time wasting. Just the latest FOSS/Linux/Ubuntu news.


By Ronnie Tucker

https://fullcirclemagazine.org/

Subscribe

Full Circle Weekly News #187

October 25, 2020

Canonicals MicroK8s Gets High-Availability https://www.zdnet.com/article/canonical-introduces-high-availability-micro-kubernetes/ A Massive KDE Plasma 5.20 Released https://kde.org/announcements/plasma-5.20.0 Big Changes in the Nextcloud Hub 20 Release h

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #186

October 18, 2020

Linux GUI Apps Coming to Windows https://www.zdnet.com/article/linux-graphical-apps-coming-to-windows-subsystem-for-linux/ Linux Mint 20.1 Will Arrive Mid-December https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3969 Ubuntu 20.10, Groovy Gorilla [beta], Out https://9to5li

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #185

October 11, 2020

Lenovo Releases 27 Thinkpads and Thinkstations with Ubuntu https://news.lenovo.com/pressroom/press-releases/lenovo-launches-linux-ready-thinkpad-and-thinkstation-pcs-preinstalled-with-ubuntu/ Amnesia the Dark Descent, Without Assets, Now Open Source http

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #184

October 04, 2020

Gnome 3.38 Release https://www.gnome.org/news/2020/09/gnome-3-38-released/   Gnome 40 Is Next https://discourse.gnome.org/t/new-gnome-versioning-scheme/4235   Nvidia Buys ARM https://nvidianews.nvidia.com/news/nvidia-to-acquire-arm-for-40-billion-creatin

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #183

September 30, 2020

WSL2 Now Mounts Linux Disks https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/09/wsl-2-access-ext4-from-windows-10   Linux Mint Planning a WebApp Manager https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3960   Fedora to Use BTRFS as Default Filesystem in Fedora 33 https://fedoramagazine.or

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #182

September 16, 2020

Groovy Gorilla Is In Feature Freeze https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-devel-announce/2020-August/001279.html Ubuntu Beginning the Switch to NFTables in Groovy Gorilla https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-devel/2020-August/041142.html IP Fire 2

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #181

September 03, 2020

Ubuntu LTS Point Releases Are Here http://fridge.ubuntu.com/2020/08/06/ubuntu-20-04-1-lts-released/ http://fridge.ubuntu.com/2020/08/14/ubuntu-18-04-5-lts-released/ http://fridge.ubuntu.com/2020/08/14/ubuntu-16-04-7-lts-released/   Rolling Rhino Turns Ub

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #180

August 21, 2020

Serpent OS, a New Distro https://www.serpentos.com/blog/2020/06/30/first-post/ IPFire Will Discontinue Support for 32-Bit with PAE https://blog.ipfire.org/post/ipfire-2-25-core-update-146-released Ubuntu 19.10 Reaches End of Life https://lists.ubuntu.com

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #179

August 03, 2020

Linux Mint Confirms Snap Will Be Forbidden https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3906 TUXEDO Computers and System76 Now Have AMD Laptop Offerings https://9to5linux.com/tuxedo-computers-unveils-their-first-amd-only-linux-laptop https://9to5linux.com/system76-laun

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #178

July 18, 2020

Oracle’s Patch Reduces Boot Times By Almost Half https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Oracle-Faster-Linux-Boot-PADATA Inkscape 1.0 Released, Finally https://inkscape.org/news/2020/05/04/introducing-inkscape-10/ Ubuntu Studio 20.1

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #177

July 11, 2020

Ubuntu 20.04 Released https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/04/download-ubuntu-20-04 Ubuntu Survey Results https://ubuntu.com/blog/ubuntu-20-04-survey-results Fedora 32 Released https://fedoramagazine.org/announcing-fedora-32/ Lenovo Now Shipping Fedora on Th

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #176

June 18, 2020

Red Hat Names Paul Cormier President and CEO https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20200406005139/en Mitchell Baker Named CEO of Mozilla https://blog.mozilla.org/blog/2020/04/08/mitchell-baker-named-ceo-of-mozilla/ Docker Users Targeted with Crypto Malw

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #175

June 12, 2020

Paragon Software Unhappy about exFAT in Kernel 5.7 https://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2020/03/the-exfat-filesystem-is-coming-to-linux-paragon-softwares-not-happy-about-it/ Debian Announces Biohackathon https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-an

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #174

June 07, 2020

Kernel 5.6 Released https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/3/29/379 Audacious 4.0 Out https://audacious-media-player.org/news/45-audacious-4-0-released Git 2.26.0 Out https://github.blog/2020-03-22-highlights-from-git-2-26/ Parrot 4.8 Out https://parrotsec.org/blog/

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #173

June 02, 2020

March Update on Pinebook Pro https://www.pine64.org/2020/03/15/march-update-manjaro-on-pinebook-pro-pinephone-software/ GitHub to Acquire NPM https://www.itprotoday.com/devops-and-software-development/github-acquire-npm-javascript-package-manager Shortwa

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #172

May 23, 2020

Debian Leader Says “One Year Will Do” https://www.itwire.com/open-source/debian-leader-hartman-says-one-year-at-the-helm-will-do-for-now.html Debian 8 Adds Longer Support https://raphaelhertzog.com/2020/03/11/keeping-debian-8-jessie-alive-for

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #171

May 15, 2020

Let’s Encrypt Moves Forward with the CAA Rechecking Bug https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/2020-02-29-caa-rechecking-bug/114591/2 Project Sandcastle runs Android on iPhone 7 https://www.xda-developers.com/install-android-10-apple-iphone-7-plus-pro

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #170

May 07, 2020

The Structure and Administration of the GNU Project Announced https://www.gnu.org/gnu/gnu-structure.html CTO calls for patience after devs complain promised donations platform has stalled https://www.theregister.co.uk/2020/02/22/npm_funding_source/ Arch

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #169

April 29, 2020

Linux Foundation’s Core Infrastructure Initiative Releases Census II Analysis https://www.zdnet.com/article/the-linux-foundation-identifies-the-most-important-open-source-software-components-and-their-problems/ Refreshed GTK Website Goes Live https

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #168

April 19, 2020

Ubuntu 18.04.4 Released with Updated Kernel 5.3 https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-18-04-4-lts-released Devs Push for Unicode 13 Support in Ubuntu 20.04 LTS https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/unicode-13-in-ubuntu-20-04 Perens Versus Open Source

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #167

April 11, 2020

EOL of CoreOS Linux https://coreos.com/os/eol/ Kernel 5.4 Marked as LTS https://9to5linux.com/linux-kernel-5-4-is-now-an-official-lts-release-supported-until-2022 Ubuntu 20.04 Will Ship with the 5.4 LTS Kernel https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-2

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #166

March 29, 2020

Thunderbird Ownership Transferred to MZLA https://blog.thunderbird.net/2020/01/thunderbirds-new-home/ ND2H Wi-Fi Adapter Is Now FSF Certified https://www.fsf.org/news/libiquity-wi-fri-nd2h-wi-fi-card-now-fsf-certified-to-respect-your-freedom Nvidia Dropp

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #165

March 18, 2020

Kubuntu Focus Laptop to Ship in Early February https://www.zdnet.com/article/kubuntu-focus-a-new-top-of-the-line-linux-laptop-arrives/ ProtonVPN Open Sources All of Its Apps https://protonvpn.com/blog/open-source/ Wine 5.0 Released https://www.winehq.org

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #164

February 19, 2020

Zorin Announces Zorin Grid https://zoringroup.com/blog/2020/01/16/introducing-zorin-grid-manage-all-of-your-organizations-computers-as-easily-as-one/ Xfce 4.16 Getting a Major UI Change https://simon.shimmerproject.org/2020/01/14/xfce-4-14-maintenance-an

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #163

February 12, 2020

Kali Defaults to a Non-Root User https://www.kali.org/news/kali-default-non-root-user/ VVVVVV Now Open Source https://github.com/TerryCavanagh/VVVVVV/blob/master/LICENSE.md An All New Firefox 72 https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/72.0/releasenotes/ Li

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #162

January 29, 2020

Arch Linux Now Using ZStandard Instead of XZ for Compression https://www.archlinux.org/news/now-using-zstandard-instead-of-xz-for-package-compression/ EA Is Permanently Banning Linux Gamers in Battlefield V https://itsfoss.com/ea-banning-linux-gamers/ Op

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #161

January 08, 2020

DXVK 1.5 Released https://github.com/doitsujin/dxvk/releases/tag/v1.5 Calculate Linux 20 Released https://forum.calculate-linux.org/t/calculate-linux-20/9805 Purism Announces the Librem Server https://puri.sm/products/librem-server/ Linux Mint 19.3 Cinna

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #160

December 29, 2019

Zorin OS 15.1 is Released https://zoringroup.com/blog/2019/12/12/zorin-os-15-1-is-released-a-better-way-to-work-learn-and-play/ Firefox 71 is Now Available for All Supported Ubuntu Releases https://news.softpedia.com/news/mozilla-firefox-71-is-now-availa

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #159

December 26, 2019

elementaryOS 5.1 Hera Released https://blog.elementary.io/introducing-elementary-os-5-1-hera/ Linux Mint 19.3 Beta Available https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3816 Debian 11 “Bullseye” Alpha 1 Released https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announ

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #158

December 22, 2019

Gnome 3.35.2 Available for Testing https://news.softpedia.com/news/gnome-3-36-desktop-environment-development-continues-with-the-second-snapshot-528304.shtml Cumulus Networks Unveils Its 4th-Generation of Modern Network Software https://cumulusnetworks.c

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #157

December 17, 2019

Updated Debian 10: 10.2 released https://www.debian.org/News/2019/20191116 Zorin OS 15 Lite is Here https://zoringroup.com/blog/2019/11/20/zorin-os-15-lite-is-here-breathe-new-life-into-your-old-computers/ IPFire 2.23, Core Update 137 released https://bl

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #156

December 03, 2019

Linux Will Get Microsoft Defender ATP Antivirus https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-defender-atp-is-coming-to-linux-in-2020/ Ubuntu 20.04 and Debian 11 Progress on Python 2 Removal https://news.softpedia.com/news/ubuntu-20-04-lts-and-debian-gnu-linux

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #155

November 26, 2019

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.1 Officially Released https://www.redhat.com/en/about/press-releases/red-hat-ups-iq-intelligent-operating-system-latest-release-red-hat-enterprise-linux-8 SparkyLinux’s November ISO Brings Debian “Bullseye” Up

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #154

November 19, 2019

PHP Remote Code Execution Flaw Actively Exploited Against NGINX Servers https://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/us/security/news/vulnerabilities-and-exploits/php-fpm-vulnerability-cve-2019-11043-can-lead-to-remote-code-execution-in-nginx-web-servers Fedora 31 R

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #153

November 12, 2019

GNOME Files Defense Against Patent Troll https://www.gnome.org/news/2019/10/gnome-files-defense-against-patent-troll/ The Debian Project stands with the GNOME Foundation https://bits.debian.org/2019/10/gnome-foundation-defense-patent-troll.html Vote on o

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #152

November 06, 2019

Project Trident Ditches BSD for Linux https://itsfoss.com/bsd-project-trident-linux/ Zabbix 4.4 released https://www.zabbix.com/whats_new_4_4 Hyperbola GNU / Linux-libre releases “Milky Way” v0.3 https://www.hyperbola.info/news/milky-way-v03-

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #151

October 29, 2019

New Android Zero-Day Vulnerability Found https://fossbytes.com/new-android-zero-day-vulnerability-found-vulnerable-devices/ Docker Has Financial Problems https://www.linux-magazin.de/news/bericht-docker-hat-finanzprobleme SparkyLinux 5.9 Released https:/

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #150

October 22, 2019

Linux Mint Debian Edition 4 to be Dubbed Debbie https://news.softpedia.com/news/linux-mint-debian-edition-4-to-be-dubbed-debbie-new-linux-mint-logo-unveiled-527651.shtml   The New Nextcloud 17 Brings Remote Wipe https://nextcloud.com/press/pr20190930/  

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #149

October 15, 2019

Oracle Autonomous Linux Is The World’s First Autonomous OS https://www.oracle.com/corporate/pressrelease/oow19-oracle-autonomous-linux-091619.html Linux Kernel 5.3 Gets First Point Release https://news.softpedia.com/news/linux-kernel-5-3-gets-first

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #148

October 08, 2019

Huawei Linux Laptops Running Deepin Linux Now Available https://fossbytes.com/huawei-linux-laptops-running-deepin-distro/ PineTime, a Smartwatch Companion for Linux Smartphones https://liliputing.com/2019/09/pinetime-is-a-25-smartwatch-companion-for-linu

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #147

October 01, 2019

Thousands Of Linux Servers Infected By Lilu (Lilocked) Ransomware https://www.zdnet.com/article/thousands-of-servers-infected-with-new-lilocked-lilu-ransomware/ Microsoft Teams is coming to Linux https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-teams-for-linux-cl

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #146

September 24, 2019

Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS Makes It Easier to Patch the Linux Kernel without Rebooting https://news.softpedia.com/news/ubuntu-18-04-3-lts-makes-it-easier-to-patch-the-linux-kernel-without-rebooting-527132.shtml GNOME Wants to Make Linux Firmware Updates Easier t

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #145

September 11, 2019

Knoppix 8.6 is Now Based on Debian 10 “Buster” https://news.softpedia.com/news/knoppix-live-gnu-linux-system-is-now-based-on-debian-gnu-lin ux-10-buster-527047.shtml   System76 Unveils Graphical Firmware Updater for All Debian-Based Linux Distros https:/

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #144

September 11, 2019

Default Ubuntu Yaru Theme Rebased on Adwaita 3.32 https://www.linuxuprising.com/2019/08/default-ubuntu-yaru-theme-rebased-on.html Announcing the EPEL 8.0 Official Release http://smoogespace.blogspot.com/2019/08/announcing-epel-80-official-release.html Mo

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #143

August 19, 2019

Linux Journal Ceases Publication: An Awkward Goodbye https://www.linuxjournal.com/content/linux-journal-ceases-publication-awkward-goodbye SparkyLinux Gets New Development Cycle Based on Debian 11 https://news.softpedia.com/news/sparkylinux-gets-new-deve

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #142

August 12, 2019

KDE Plasma 5.17 Desktop to Modernize the Settings and Add Many UI Changes https://news.softpedia.com/news/kde-plasma-5-17-linux-desktop-to-modernize-the-settings-add-many-ui-changes-526856.shtml Debconf20 Takes Place August 23-29 https://news.softpedia.c

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #141

July 30, 2019

Mozilla Firefox Could Soon Get a “Tor mode” Add-on https://news.softpedia.com/news/mozilla-firefox-could-soon-get-a-tor-mode-add-on-526774.shtml Critical Flaw in VLC Media Player Discovered by German Cybersecurity Agency https://news.softpedia.com/news/c

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #140

July 22, 2019

GNU Linux-Libre 5.2 Kernel Released https://news.softpedia.com/news/gnu-linux-libre-5-2-kernel-released-for-those-seeking-100-freedom-for-their-pcs-526671.shtml Tails 3.15 Fixes Critical Bugs https://tails.boum.org/news/version_3.15/index.en.html Mozilla

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #139

July 15, 2019

System 76’s Linux-powered Thelio desktop now available with 3rd gen AMD Ryzen Processors https://betanews.com/2019/07/07/system76-linux-thelio-amd-ryzen3/ PyOxidizer Can Turn Python Code Into Apps for Windows, MacOS, Linux https://fossbytes.com/pyoxidize

Download

Full Circle Weekly News #138

July 08, 2019

Correction The Raspberry Pi 4B ships with two micro HDMI, not mini, as was stated in the previous episode. Purism’s Security Key Will Generate Keys Directly on the Device, Made in the USA https://news.softpedia.com/news/purism-s-security-key-will-generat

Download