Relative Paths | Web Development and stuff like that

52: Going Offline | with Jeremy Keith

Play
Play
Share!

Share this Podcast

MyCast

MyCast

MyCast Subscription

Relative Paths | Web Development and stuff like that

Mark Phoenix and Ben Hutchings

Description: Both ends of the Web Development spectrum

Now Playing

52: Going Offline | with Jeremy Keith

Play Download media
Coming into this episode I didn't really know much about service workers. I assumed there were very specific use cases for them, but Jeremy opened our eyes to the fact that they allow access to some very powerful browser features and are useful across the board. We also spoke about Jeremy's recently released A Book Apart Book 'Going Offline', I'm really enjoying it. I can't put it any better than Sarah Drasner (https://sarahdrasnerdesign.com), who said: "Jeremy Keith explains service workers with kindness, clarity, and humour in his new book, a must-read for any web developer who wants to learn this exciting new API and enable offline experiences for their applications." The first chapter is available as an A List Apart article, link below. There were some strong Jukebox Entries this time. Jeremy Chose Catastrophe And The Cure by Explosions In The Sky, from one of my very favourite albums. Ben chose The Celestial Garden by DrumTalk but apparently described a different track in the episode, he's a sleep deprived new dad so we'll have mercy on him for that. My pick was Bashed Out by This Is The Kit, a lovely bitter sweet track. Jeremy's and Ben's tracks are added to the Relative Paths Playlist (https://relativepaths.uk/pl), mine goes on the Relative Paths Alt Playlist (http://relativepaths.uk/altpl) for tracks with lyrics. Jeremy also plays slide bouzouki for Brighton based band Salter Cane. Link to their site is below, I'd definitely recommend giving them a listen. Links: Jeremy's Site - https://adactio.com Going Offline, A Book Apart - https://abookapart.com/products/going-offline Chapter One of Going Offline - https://alistapart.com/article/going-offline Jeremy's Twitter - https://twitter.com/adactio Sara Soueidan, Offline with Service Workers - https://www.sarasoueidan.com/blog/going-offline Lyza Gardner, The Pragmatist’s Guide To Service Workers - https://vimeo.com/223432833 Amber Wilson - https://amberwilson.co.uk Jake Archibald - https://jakearchibald.com Salter Cane - https://saltercane.com Subscribe and keep in touch: iTunes - https://relativepaths.uk/it Stitcher - https://relativepaths.uk/st SoundCloud - https://relativepaths.uk/sc AudioBoom - https://relativepaths.uk/ab Twitter - https://twitter.com/relativepaths Facebook - https://facebook.com/relativepaths Special mention to Loopback by Rogue Amoeba (https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback). This software make our Jukebox snippets so easy to record into Audition, and we were kindly given a free copy. The music we use for various intro bits, stings and outro is ‘Vitreous Detachment’ by Origamibiro (http://www.tomwillhill.com), used with kind permission. – Mark

Comments

Subscribe & Follow